About Us‎ > ‎

Services Provided

Fire District 3 is what’s termed as an all-risk response agency; meaning, that to the best of its ability, it will respond to any emergency-related situation (fires, rescues, medical emergencies, hazardous materials incidents,
 natural and man-made disasters, etc.). Service levels correlate to certifications of personnel. As of January 1, 2017, certifications/levels of training for District emergency-response personnel include:
              Structure Fires


                 Medical Emergencies


         Motor Vehicle Collisions

  • Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) or First Responder (this level is phasing out – all new personnel must be EMTs) – Basic Life Support (BLS) – minimum requirement
  • Intravenous Technician (IV) – Restricted Advanced Life Support (ALS) – voluntary certification level (twenty six line career personnel and two battalion chiefs are IV certified)
  • Paramedic (ALS) – ten certified personnel (i.e., twelve firefighters and one battalion chief)
  • National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Hazardous Materials (HM) Operations Level – minimum requirement (several personnel are certified to the HM Incident Commander level)
  • IFSAC (International Fire Service Accreditation Congress) Certifications – All career firefighters, captains and battalion chiefs are IFSAC certified to the highest level Firefighter (FFII) – includes Hazardous Materials Operations (HMO) certification. As a minimum, all volunteer personnel must become certified as FFI and HMO to pass probation. All captains are expected to be certified as Fire Officer I. The chief officers are certified through equivalency. Instructor I certification is required for all career personnel – several personnel are certified at the Instructor II level.
  • NFPA Firefighter 1 level – Minimum requirement for all personnel (several personnel meet requirements to Firefighter 2 and Fire Officer IV)
  • National Wildlife Coordinating Group level of Firefighter 2 – minimum requirement (several personnel hold a multitude of certifications far above this minimum level)
  • Water Rescue Awareness level – minimum requirement